URGENT - We need your help!

YOUR ACTION IS NEEDED NOW

 
The House and Senate budget committees are making decisions about the DDA budget!
Call Your Legislative Representatives!  Ask them to Keep the DD Promise and Restore the 3.5% for Developmental Disabilities Community Services. 
 
The Governor proposed only a 1% increase

Please share with your networks ASAP!
 
 
TALKING POINTS:
 
·      The Minimum Wage Act of 2014 mandated that the Governor include a 3.5% rate increase for DD community services, but Governor Hogan reduced it to 1% for fiscal year 2019.
 
·      The 3.5% rate increase is critically important to raising direct support wages as the minimum wage continues to rise.
 
·      Direct support staff are the backbone of community supports and the ability of agencies to hire and retain quality staff is vitally important to people with developmental disabilities.
 
·      Please KEEP THE DD PROMISE made in 2014 and restore the 3.5% rate increase.  Without it, the DDA budget is missing $15 million in State/General funds-a total of $28 million when you include the federal matching funds that would go along with it. 
 
 
LEGISLATORS TO EMAIL OR CALL:
 
Please contact any of your legislators that serve on either the House Appropriations Committee or the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee (listed below)
 
If you are not sure who your legislators are, go to www.mdelect.net and type in your home address to learn who your state legislators are.
  
 Senate Budget & Taxation Committee Members
 
Kasemeyer, Edward J. (Chair),  (410) 841-3653
Edward.kasemeyer@senate.state.md.us
 
Madaleno, Richard S., Jr. (Vice Chair), (301) 858-3137
Richard.madaleno@senate.state.md.us
 
Currie, Ulysses, (301) 858-3127
Ulysses.currie@senate.state.md.us
 
DeGrange, James E., Sr., (401) 841-3593
james.degrange@senate.state.md.us
 
Eckardt, Adelaide C., (401) 841-3590
Adelaide.eckardt@senate.state.md.us
 
Edwards, George C., (301) 858-3565
George.edwards@senate.state.md.us
 
Ferguson, Bill, (401) 841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
 
Guzzone, Guy, (410) 841-3572
guy.guzzone@senate.state.md.us
 
King, Nancy J., (301) 858-3686
nancy.king@senate.state.md.us
 
Manno, Roger, (301) 858-3151
roger.manno@senate.state.md.us
 
McFadden, Nathaniel J., (410) 841-3165
Nathaniel.mcfadden@senate.state.md.us
 
Peters, Douglas J. J.,  (301) 858-3631 
douglas.peters@senate.state.md.us
 
Serafini, Andrew A., (301) 858-3903, 
Andrew.serafini@senate.state.md.us
 
 
House Appropriations Committee Members
 
Macintosh, Maggie (Chair),  (410) 841-3990 
Maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us
 
Gaines, Tawanna P. (Vice Chair), (301) 858-3058
tawanna.gaines@house.state.md.us
 
Barnes, Ben, (410) 841-3046
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us
 
Beitzel, Wendell R., (301) 858-3454
Wendell.beitzel@house.state.md.us
 
Carozza, Mary Beth,  (301) 858-3433
Marybeth.carozza@house.state.md.us
 
Chang, Mark S., (410) 841-3511
Mark.chang@house.state.md.us
 
Ciliberti, Barrie S., (410) 841-3080
barrie.ciliberti@house.state.md.us
 
Ghrist, Jefferson L., (410) 841-3555
jeff.ghrist@house.state.md.us
 
Grammer, Robin L., Jr., (410) 841-3298
robin.grammer@house.state.md.us
 
Gutierrez, Ana Sol,  (301) 858-3181
ana.gutierrez@house.state.md.us
 
Haynes, Keith E., (410) 841- 3801
keith.haynes@house.state.md.us
 
Hettleman, Shelly , (410) 841-3833
shelly.hettleman@house.state.md.us
 
Jackson, Michael A. , (301) 858-3103
Michael.jackson@house.state.md.us
 
Jones, Adrienne A., (410) 841-3391 
Adrienne.jones@house.state.md.us
 
Korman, Marc , (301) 858-3649
marc.korman@house.state.md.us
 
Krimm, Carol L. ,(301) 858-3472
carol.krimm@house.state.md.us
 
Lam, Clarence K., (401)-841-3205
Clarence.lam@house.state.md.us
 
Lierman, Brooke E., (410) 841-3319 
brooke.lierman@house.state.md.us
 
McConkey, Tony ,(410) 841-3406
tony.mcConkey@house.state.md.us
 
McKay, Mike , (301) 858-3321
mike.mckay@house.state.md.us
 
Miller, Aruna, (301) 858- 3090
aruna.miller@house.state.md.us
 
Reznik, Kirill, (301) 858- 3039
kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us
 
Sophocleus, Theodore, (410) 841-3372
ted.sophocleus@house.state.md.us
 
Valentino-Smith, Geraldine, (301) 858-3101 
Geraldine.valentino@house.state.md.us
 
Vogt, David E., III, (410) 841-3118
david.vogt@house.state.md.us
 
Young, Pat,  (410) 841-3544
pat.young@house.state.md.us